MINUTES OF CEREMONIAL COUNCIL

Friday, 17 May 2019 (7:50 - 8:00 pm)

PRESENT

Cllr Peter Chand (Chair)
Cllr Elizabeth Kangethe (Deputy Chair)

Cllr Saima Ashraf Cllr Princess Bright Cllr Evelyn Carpenter Cllr John Dulwich Cllr Cameron Geddes Cllr Kashif Haroon Cllr Eileen Keller Cllr Olawale Martins Cllr Dave Miles Cllr Simon Perry Cllr Tony Ramsay Cllr Ingrid Robinson Cllr Emily Rodwell	Cllr Dorothy Akwaboah Cllr Abdul Aziz Cllr Sade Bright Cllr Josie Channer Cllr Edna Fergus Cllr Syed Ghani Cllr Jane Jones Cllr Mohammed Khan Cllr Mick McCarthy Cllr Margaret Mullane Cllr Moin Quadri Cllr Chris Rice Cllr Paul Robinson Cllr Muhammad Saleem Cllr Lee Waker	Cllr Sanchia Alasia Cllr Toni Bankole Cllr Laila M. Butt Cllr Faruk Choudhury Cllr Irma Freeborn Cllr Rocky Gill Cllr Amardeep Singh Jamu Cllr Donna Lumsden Cllr Giasuddin Miah Cllr Glenda Paddle Cllr Foyzur Rahman Cllr Lynda Rice Cllr Darren Rodwell Cllr Faraaz Shaukat Cllr Phil Waker
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------	------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Cllr Bill Turner

5. Declaration of Members' Interests

There were no declarations of interest.

6. Conferring of the Honorary Freedom of the Borough

The Chair advised that a special meeting of the Ceremonial Council had been called in order to consider two nominations for the award of the Freedom of the Borough, the highest honour that a Council could bestow on an individual in recognition of their outstanding achievements.

Councillor Worby moved and Councillor Twomey seconded the nomination of Mr Neal Crowley as Honorary Freeman of the Borough. Councillor Worby spoke on Neal's tireless work on behalf of the local community in relation to a wide range of equal opportunity and inclusion issues, as well as his roles as Lead Volunteer in the Borough and advocate for improved access for disabled people. Other notable achievements included Neal's active role in the Borough's 50th anniversary celebrations during 2015, his coaching of athletes from Barking and Dagenham at

the Special Olympics in Sheffield in 2017 and his current role as Chairperson of the International Day of Disabled People (IDDP).

Councillor Geddes moved and Councillor Kangethe seconded the nomination of Mr Jeff Porter as Honorary Freeman of the Borough. Councillor Geddes drew particular attention to Mr Porter's service as a Councillor between 1998 to 2006 and his bravery during the 7 July 2005 London terror attacks when, in his profession as a London Underground train driver, he helped the evacuation of passengers caught up in the bombing of a train at Edgware Road station.

The Ceremonial Council **resolved** to award the Honorary Freedom of the Borough to Mr Neal Crowley and Mr Jeff Porter.